SEGE 2019

August 12-14, 2019 | Ontario Tech University, Oshawa, Canada

SEGE 2019 Group Photo

More photos of SEGE2019 are available through the link below:

Conference Program

Download the full verision of the program

Conference Proceedings

Student Innovation Competition

Project Title Student Team    
Manitoba Converter Topology King Man Siu   Student Innovation Award "Power Electronics"
Demonstration of Advanced Electric Wheel and Test Platform Myles Ginty, Seyawash Nairow, Philip Anisimov Best Innovation Award Student Innovation Award "Transportation Electrification"
Application of Flywheel-based Fast Charging System integrated with Nuclear Power Plant Muhammad R. Abdussami   Student Innovation Award "Smart Energy Systems"
R-CAV Test Platform for Autonomous Vehicle Hassan Nauman, Zachariah Zoepel, Chunhui Joog   Student Innovation Award "Autonomous Vehicles"

Best Paper Award 2019

S1 Winner: GE075, MohammadReza Begli, University of Guelph, Canada
MohammadReza Begli, Farnaz Derakhshan, Hadis Karimipour
Paper Title:
A Layered Intrusion Detection System for Critical Infrastructure Using Machine Learning

S1 Winner: GE045, Jacob Sakhnini, University of Guelph, Canada
Jacob Sakhnini, Hadis Karimipour, Ali Dehghantanha
Paper Title:
Smart Grid Cyber Attacks Detection Using Supervised Learning and Heuristic Feature Selection

S2 Winner: GE040, Roshani Kaluthanthrige, University of Manitoba, Canada
Roshani Kaluthanthrige, Athula D. Rajapakse
Paper Title:
Operational Optimization of a Remote Off-Grid Hybrid Renewable Energy System in Northern Canada

S3 Winner: GE047, Darian Andreas Schaab, University Stuttgart, Germany
Darian Andreas Schaab, Raoul Laribi, Alexander Sauer
Paper Title:
Sizing Electric Storage Devices for Power Smoothing Applications in DC Microgrids

S3 Winner: GE049, Artem Schumilin, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
Artem Schumilin, Hüseyin Kemal Çakmak, Karl-Uwe Stucky, Clemens Duepmeier, Veit Hagenmeyer
Paper Title:
Semantic CIM2Matpower: Ontology-Based Network Topology Processor and Converter for CIM Node-Breaker Models

S4 Winner: GE074, Wanghao Fei, University of Oklahoma, USA
Jonathan Devadason, Paul Moses, Wanghao Fei
Paper Title:
Bifurcation Analysis of Weak Electrical Grids Considering Different Load Representations

S5 Winner: GE026, Abul Hasan Fahad, United International University, Bangladesh
Abul Hasan Fahad, Md. Shamim Reza
Paper Title:
Single-Phase Shunt Active Power Filter Using Parabolic PWM for Current Control

S6 Winner: GE100, Reinaldo Burian, Marcelo Gontijo, ORBCOMM, Canada
Reinaldo Burian, Marcelo Gontijo, Hugo Alvarez
Paper Title:
Robustness and Reliability in Smart Grid Solutions

S7 Winner: GE0106, Yasser G. Hegazy, German University in Cairo, Egypt
Samuel Raafat, Nabil M. Hamed, Yasser G. Hegazy
Paper Title:
Statistical Sizing of a 100% Renewable Energy System with Battery Energy Storage System

S7 Winner: GE023-A, Andrew West, SUBNET Solutions, Australia
Andrew West
Paper Title:
Digital in an Aanalog World

S8 Winner: GE071, Ken King Man Siu, University of Manitoba, Canada
Ken King Man Siu, Carl Ngai Man Ho
Paper Title:
Transformerless Grid-Connected Converters Using Active Virtual Ground Technique for Single-Phase Microgrids

Keynote Speakers

Prof. Hossam A.Gabbar
Ontario Tech University, Oshawa, Canada

Fast Charging Infrastructures for Autonomous Transportation and Smart Cities

Dr. Carl Ngai Man Ho
University of Manitoba, Canada

Development of Photovoltaic Inverter Technologies

Prof. Prasanta Ghosh
Syracuse University, USA

Bio-inspired Design to Improve Power Grid Resiliency




Invited Speakers

Dr. Hadis Karimipour
University of Guelph, Canada

Application of AI in Smart Grid Cyber Security Analysis


Dr. Brennan Louw
Independent Electricity System Operator

The Innovation Roadmap: Exploring Evolution in Ontario’s Electricity Sector